Perspective

My wife at a schoolhouse in Mysore, India. Not one desk, chair or book in the room.

For most of the past year, I’ve been focused on the goal of getting my first novel published. As most writers know, it’s a road paved with rejection slips. It’s also a wonderful antidote for any kind of ego you may have.

When you spend most of your time focusing on a goal, it’s easy to lose your perspective on the big picture.

According to the World Bank at least 80% of humanity lives on less than $10 per day.

So for all of you struggling writers out there, my friends, allow me to gently remind you on this Thanksgiving day that you already won the lottery. If you are living in a 1st world country with a computer and an internet connection, a roof over your head and food in the fridge, you are one of the very lucky few on planet Earth to have struck it rich. And if your biggest problem is that you haven’t yet worked out a way to get paid for sitting at that computer in your pajamas all day making shit up, then I wish you the patience and perseverance to succeed, along with a second helping of humility and gratitude for the good life you already have. Don’t feel lucky when someone rejects your writing? If you can read and write, you were born lucky.

I’m very fortunate to enjoy the love of family and friends, the prosperity that seems to come from a simple willingness to work, and the freedom to let my mind explore whatever strange horizons the magnetic needle of my curiosity happens to swing toward. I hope I don’t too often take it for granted. So if you’re reading this: thank you for helping me feel connected, remember that you are too, and have a Happy Thanksgiving.

One thought on “Perspective

Leave a Reply

