What I’m Reading Lately

I’m usually reading a couple of fiction books at a time, and at least one non-fiction.  Here’s the latest batch.

Steampunk
This is the anthology of short stories, volume one.  I just returned it to the library, and I don’t remember the names of the editors.  But it was good.  I especially enjoyed “The Steam Man of the Prairie and the Dark Rider Get Down: A Dime Novel” by Joe R. Lansdale.  It’s a wild, filthy, ultraviolent tale with  plenty of action and humor.

A Dark Matter by Peter Straub
Excellent.  A complex, compelling novel that takes risks.  Masterfully told.

Across the Nightingale Floor by Lian Hearn
A mixed bag.  This is book one of a fantasy trilogy that takes place in a re-imagined feudal Japan.  Some samurai and mystical ninja elements blended with forbidden love and clan intrigue.  Beautiful descriptions and interesting use of a main character with a superpowered sense of hearing, but there is also a deeply flawed narrative here.  I kept telling myself I’d quit reading it, but when I get to that 3/4 point in a book, I feel like I have to finish what’s on my plate just to see how it wraps up.  This is a compulsion I really need to break because there are way too many great books out there that I won’t get to before I die.  Oh, well.  I won’t be picking up book two.

The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
Finally got around to this entertaining pulp classic.  It’s also the basis for that  Lansdale story mentioned above that you really owe it to yourself to read.

In progress:

My Spiritual Journey by The 14th Dalai Lama
More autobiographical than his other books, but also a collection of essays on various themes that are close to his heart.  Brimming with the same compassionate view and diamond-sharp wisdom that I’ve found in all of his books.

The Affinity Bridge by George Mann
A steampunk detective story with occult and zombie elements.  So far, very good.

Next in the que…

The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters

The Passage

The Windup Bird Chronicle

So what else should be on my list?  What are you reading that’s good?

Leave a Reply

