Terrible Minds Interview

I was recently interviewed by Chuck Wendig for his blog Terrible Minds.  It was a fun one.  You can check it out here.  We talk about writing, storytelling, publishing, and some weird shit that only comes up in a Wendig interview.

If you don’t already follow his blog, I highly recommend it.  Chuck is uber prolific with wildly funny yet practical writing advice.  As he mentions in the interview, I first approached him to ask if he would take a look at an advance copy of The Devil of Echo Lake because I really admire his work.  His diabolical humor and intensity is full on in his novel Blackbirds, which I liked so much that I gave it a recommendation for a Bram Stoker Award.  So, yeah, check out the interview, the blog, and the book.  They’re good.

2 thoughts on “Terrible Minds Interview

  1. jaimiengle says:

    great interview, Doug. It was nice to learn a little bit more about you, and your writing techniques. and I also love the narrator in that Stephen King novel, 11/22/63. It was actually my first Stephen King book. Those last few questions in your intervie were pretty damn funny. thanks for inspiring me to not give up on my book. After a year of rejections, followed by several full manuscript requests, I too am turning toward the small press to see the possibilities. I look forward to checking out your new book when it’s available.

  2. DTWynne says:

    Thanks, Jaimie, and good luck with your submissions. Do you use Duotrope to search for small presses? That’s how I found out about the JournalStone contest. The HWA is also a great resource.

Leave a Reply

